According to UGC GO (REGD. NO. D. L.-33004/99), ragging is any act of physical or mental abuse (including bullying and exclusion) targeted at another student (fresher or otherwise) on the ground of colour, race, religion, caste, ethnicity, gender (including transgender), sexual orientation, appearance, nationality, regional origins, linguistic identity, place of birth, place of residence or economic background.

The University Grants Commission vide its letter no F.1-16/2007 (CPP-II) dated June 17, 2009 has reiterated the ban on ragging of students in HEIs. The students are therefore directed to strictly desist from any kind of ragging.

    Policies for preventing ragging are outlined as follows:

  1. Adequate sensitisation on ragging through students’ induction programme (SIP)
  2. Creating awareness on the adverse forth coming effects of indulging in ragging
  3. Creating avenues for lodging complaints on issues of ragging
  4. Submission of Anti-ragging affidavit duly signed by the student and her parent is mandatory
  5. Ascertaining a ragging free environment in the institution through the active anti-ragging squads.
  6. Zero-tolerance towards Ragging:Any student found guilty of ragging in the campus
    • will be debarred from appearing for examination
    • will not be allowed to continue her studies in the institution and TC would be issued immediately
    • will be expelled from the hostel.


Toll Free Helpline: 1800 180 5522

Anti-Ragging Committee

S.No. Name of the Faculty / Student Designation Contact Number
1 Dr. (Tmt.) S.C.Indirani HoD & Associate Professor
Department of Commerce
2 Dr. (Tmt.) R.Thilakam HoD & Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
3 Dr. (Tmt.) S.S.Gomathi Assistant Professor
Department of Physics
4 Selvi. P.K.Sivaranjani II M.A. Economics
Students’ Chairperson
5 Selvi. S.Savntharya III B.Sc. Physics
Students’ Secretary


Click here to View